Twitter Names Two New Board Members

Twitter Names Two New Board Members

Twitter Logo

The board of directors at Twitter has a different look, as Hugh Johnston and Martha Lane Fox are in, replacing Peter Currie and Peter Chernin.

Twitter announced the changes to its board in a Form 8-K it filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission last week, saying that they will take effect following its 2016 annual meeting.

The two new Twitter board members are:

  • Johnston, vice chairman and chief financial officer at PepsiCo, where he has been since 1987 in numerous roles.
  • Internet entrepreneur Lane Fox, whose résumé includes founder and/or chairman roles at, Lucky Voice, MakieLab and Doteveryone.

And the two departing members are:

  • Currie, president of Currie Capital and former chief financial officer of Netscape.
  • Chernin, currently chairman and CEO of The Chernin Group and former president and chief operating officer at News Corp.

According to the New York Post, Twitter had attempted to add some Hollywood to its board of directors, speaking with Mandalay Entertainment chairman and CEO Peter Guber and television producer Shonda Rhimes, but neither one panned out.

Readers: What do you think of the changes to Twitter’s board?